Rugby Sevens World Tour

New New Zealand has been by far the dominant force in the IRB World Sevens Series, winning eight out of the 11 seasons. However, in recent years, several other teams have successfully challenged New Zealand's dominance. Fiji, long a power in sevens, were winners in 2005-06, and the last two seasons have been won by other nations - South Africa in 2008-09 and most recently Samoa. Other strong contenders in recent years have included England, Australia and Argentina, all of whom have won an event within the last two seasons.